EU Commission calls for Bulgaria, Croatia and Romania to join the Schengen area — RT EN

16 Nov 2022 10:19 p.m

The European Commission is calling for Bulgaria, Croatia and Romania to be integrated into the Schengen zone by abolishing internal EU border controls. Croatia has already been approved by the EU Parliament, but there could be dissenting votes in the case of Romania.

Source: © Keith Binns

The European Commission has called on the EU Member States to approve the accession of Bulgaria, Croatia and Romania to the Schengen Agreement. In a report published on the Commission’s official website on November 16 Explanation it says that the recording should take place “without further delays”. The EU Commission highlighted:

“For years, these three member states have contributed significantly to the functioning of the Schengen zone, including during the pandemic and more recently after confronting the unprecedented consequences of the war in Ukraine.”

With this justification, the Commission called for the removal of EU internal border controls against the states mentioned. Enlarging the Schengen area will make Europe safer, more prosperous and more attractive, the Commission said.

Bulgaria, Croatia and Romania expect to join the Schengen area in 2022. It currently consists of the 22 EU countries and the four non-members Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland. In November, the European Parliament voted to include Croatia in the Schengen zone. Despite joining the EU in 2007, Bulgaria and Romania did not become members of the Schengen zone.

The EU Commission explained that these states now meet the requirements for full admission to the Schengen area through “strong border security”, among other things. Nevertheless, the Bloomberg news agency reported that support for Romania’s admission to the Schengen area from the Netherlands and Sweden was still not certain.

More on the subject – EU Parliament votes for Croatia to join Schengen

By blocking RT, the EU aims to silence a critical, non-pro-Western source of information. And not only with regard to the Ukraine war. Access to our website has been made more difficult, several social media have blocked our accounts. It is now up to all of us whether journalism beyond mainstream narratives can continue to be pursued in Germany and the EU. If you like our articles, feel free to share them wherever you are active. It’s possible because the EU hasn’t banned our work or reading and sharing our articles. Note: However, with the amendment of the “Audiovisual Media Service Act” on April 13, Austria introduced a change in this regard, which may also affect private individuals. That’s why we ask you not to share our posts on social media in Austria until the situation has been clarified.

Source link